Code of Ethics / Code d'Éthique

The CSA Statement of Professionel Ethics recently underwent a review by the Policy, Ethics and Professional Concerns Subcommittee.  The Committee is pleased to present the newly revised edition.

CSA Statement of Professional Ethics


The CSA Statement of Professional Ethics is available to download.

Download a PDF copy


As a result of the release of the new Tri-Council Policy Statement-Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS-2) in December 2010, the Executive of the CSA, along with the Policy, Ethics and Professional Concerns Subcommittee (PEPC), felt it was necessary to update our Statement of Professional Ethics. The last full revision of our policy statement occurred in 1994. Throughout the winter of 2011, the PEPC conducted a thorough review of the TCPS-2 and made suggestions regarding appropriate changes to the CSA Statement of Professional Ethics. The out-going and in-coming Executives of the CSA were consulted with regards to these changes. We are now asking the members of the CSA to submit their comments regarding the proposed changes.

The PEPC was concerned with ‘ethics creep’ and has thus limited the number of changes and additions to the current document to maintain its accessibility and integrity. Any member conducting research funded by the Tri-Council or who works at an institution that receives Tri-Council funding is required to abide by the ethics outlined in the TCPS-2. Our intention was not to replicate this document but to align our practices with theirs. All researchers are encouraged to consult the TCPS-2 for information on aspects related to the ethical practice of research.

Current Status

CSA members were invited to submit their comments and suggestions to the PEPC from June 2011 to January 2012.  A formal vote was held during the 2012 Annual General Meeting of the CSA held on May 31, 2012 at Waterloo, Ontario. Attendees at the meeting approved to accept the revised code.

Policy, Ethics and Professional Concerns Subcommittee
Dr. Jane Pulkingham, Simon Fraser University (2010-2013 Chair)
Dr. Mark Stoddart, Memorial University Newfoundland (2011-2014)
Dr. Amy Swiffen, Concordia University (2012-2015)
Dr. Lori Wilkinson, University of Manitoba (2009-2012 Chair)