Outstanding Contribution Award / Prix De Contribution Remarquable

Deadline for Nominations: Februray 15, 2017


The Canadian Sociological  Association Outstanding Contribution Award honours colleagues who have significantly contributed to Sociology in Canada. The Outstanding Contribution Award shall be a means of recognizing exceptional scholarly merit. The contribution should extend beyond the specialization(s) in which the candidate has primarily worked and  their scope should be widely recognized within the Canadian sociological  community. The award provides recognition of  outstanding scholarly contributions, and will normally be awarded to scholars at an advanced stage in their career, with a well-established record of multiple contributions throughout his or her career.

Le Prix de contribution remarquable  de la Société canadienne de sociologie honore les collègues qui ont contribué de façon significative à la sociologie canadienne. Le Prix de contribution remarquable veut être une reconnaissance du mérite académique exceptionnel. La contribution doit aller au-delà des domaines de spécialisation dans lesquels les candidats ou les candidates ont oeuvré et leur apport doit être reconnu dans les cercles canadiens de la sociologie. Le prix confirme la reconnaissance de contributions académiques remarquables et sera normalement attribué à des académiciens qui ont déjà fait carrière et pour lesquels on reconnaît les multiples contributions.

Committee / Comité

The Outstanding Award Committee is formed of five members including and chaired by the CSA President-Elect. The four other members are appointed by the CSA Executive Committee upon recommendation of the President-Elect who is also to consult the Chair of the Equity Committee.

Le comité du Prix de contribution remarquable est formé de cinq membres incluant et dirigé par le président élu de la SCS. Les quatre autres membres sont nommés par le Comité exécutif sur recommandation du président élu, qui doit consulter le ou la Responsable du Comité sur l'équité.

Nominations / Candidatures

All CSA Members are invited to make nominations for the Outstanding Contribution Award. Nominations should be sent to Dr. Rima Wilkes CSA President-Elect and Chair of the 2016-2017 Awards Committee.

Tous les membres de la SCS sont invités à proposer des candidatures pour le Prix de contribution remarquable. Les candidatures doivent être envoyées au Dr. Rima Wilkes, président élu de la SCS et responsable du Comité 2016-2017 des prix et récompenses.

Dr. Rima Wilkes, President Elect and Committee Chair

Nomination should include the candidate's vitae, a nomination letter outlining the person's contributions to Sociology, as well as three letters of support, which attest to the breadth of recognition within Canadian sociological community of these contributions. The Award is officially presented at the Banquet-Awards Ceremony night organised by the CSA and held at the Annual Conference. The recipient is also invited to present a lecture in one of the plenary sessions of the Annual Conference of the following year.

Les propositions doivent inclure le curriculum vitae des candidats ou candidates, une lettre de nomination résumant leur apport à la sociologie, ainsi que trois lettres qui attestent de l'importance de ces contributions pour la sociologie canadienne. Le prix est officiellement présenté lors de la soirée annuelle du Banquet et de la Cérémonie des prix et récompenses tenue lors de la Conférence annuelle de la Société. Le récipiendaire est également invité à présenter une conférence dans le cadre d'une des séances plénières de la Conférence annuelle de l'année suivante.

List of Past Recipients / Liste des récipiendaires

The following persons have been previously honoured by this award
Les personnes suivantes ont déjà été honorées par ce prix

Year: 2010 to 2016

Year/AnnéeRecipients / RecipiendairesAffiliation / Affiliation
2016 Neil Guppy University of British Columbia
2015 Monica Boyd University of Toronto
2014 Pamela Sugiman Ryerson University
2013 John Myles University of Toronto
2012 Ralph Matthews University of British Columbia
2012 David Lyon Queen's University
2011 William K. Caroll University of Victoria
2010 James Frideres University of Calgary


Year: 2000 to 2009

Year/AnnéeRecipients / RecipiendairesAffiliation / Affiliation
2009 Harvey Krahn  University of Alberta
2008 No recipient / le prix n'a pas été décerné  
2007 Victor Satzewich  McMaster University
2006 Heribert Adam  Simon Fraser University
2006 Neena L. Chappell  University of Victoria
2005 Jeffrey G. Reitz  University of Toronto
2005 Peter Sinclair  Memorial University of Newfoundland
2004 Shiva Halli  University of Manitoba
2004 Frances Henry  York University
2004 Susan A. McDaniel  University of Alberta
2003 Bonnie Fox  University of Toronto
2003 Lorne Tepperman  University of Toronto
2003 Maurice Pinard  McGill University
2002 Patricia Armstrong  York University
2002 Peter Li  University of Saskatchewan
2002 Meg Luxton  York University
2002 William Shaffir  McMaster University
2001 Paul Bernard  Université de Montréal
2001 Ellen Gee  Simon Fraser University
2001 Anthony Richmond  York University
2001 Nico Stehr  University of Alberta
2001 Barry Wellman  University of Toronto
2000 Donald Clairmont  Dalhousie University
2000 James Curtis  University of Waterloo
2000 James Richardson  University of New Brunswick


Year: 1990 to 1999

Year/AnnéeRecipients / RecipiendairesAffiliation / Affiliation
1999 Leo Dreidger  University of Manitoba
1999 Peta Tancred   McGill University
1998 No recipient / le prix n'a pas été décerné  
1997 Warren Kalbach  University of Calgary
1997 Georges-Henri Lévesque  Université Laval
1997 Marlene Mackie  University of Calgary
1997 Robert Stebbins  University of Calgary
1996 Margrit Eichler  OISE - University of Toronto
1995 Menno Boldt  Lethbridge University
1995 Robert Brym  University of Toronto
1995 Arthur K. Davis  University of Alberta
1994 Linda Christiansen-Ruffman  St. Mary's University
1994 Raymond Currie  University of Manitoba
1994 Alanis Obomsawin  National Film Board
1993 Peter Pineo  McMaster University
1992 Frank Jones  McMaster University
1992 Thelma McCormack  York University
1991 Frederick Elkin  York University
1991 Gillian Sankoff  University of Pennsylvania
1991 Frank Vallée  Carleton University
1990 Bernard Blishen   York University
1990 Raymond Breton  University of Toronto
1990 Jean Burnet  Glendon College, York University
1990 S.D. Clark  University of Toronto
1990 Hubert Guindon  Concordia University
1990 Oswald Hall  University of Toronto
1990 Gordon Inglis  Memorial University
1990 John D. Jackson  Concordia University
1990 Patricia Marchak  The University of British Columbia
1990 Bruce A. McFarlane  Carleton University
1990 Guy Rocher  Université de Montréal
1990 Aileen Ross  McGill University
1990 Dorothy  Smith  OISE - University of Toronto
1990 Marc-Adélard Tremblay  Université Laval