CSA Elections / Les élections de la SCS

CSA Elections 2018

In accordance with the CSA by-laws, a Nominating Committee is struck each year, responsible for selecting candidates for election to the positions needing replacements. The Committee devises a slate with at least one nominee for each position, and the membership has the right to make additional nominations. This year, the membership was able to forward nominations from March 5 to 16, 2018.

Please find below the final slate of candidates for 2018. The Chair of the Nominations committee is Howard Ramos, CSA Past-President and questions regarding the nomination process should be directed to him c/o office@csa-scs.ca.

Questions regarding the Election procedure should be directed to Jim Conley, CSA Treasurer and Elections Officer c/o office@csa-scs.ca.  According to the CSA by-laws, those elected will be formally appointed at the AGM on July 15, 2018 at MTCC (Metro Toronto Convention Centre) in Toronto, Ontario.

CSA members in good standing are encouraged to cast their vote from April 9 to 20, 2018. Simply download and review the candidates' information before clicking the button below to begin the voting process.

Learn more about the association and committees

**Download Candidate Information** PDF


Canadian Sociological Association members have been sent voting instructions.  If you have not received, please contact us at office@csa-scs.ca

2018 Positions Open for Election and Candidates

President Elect

Candidate: Tina Fetner, McMaster University

Candidate: Mark Stoddart, Memorial University


Policy, Ethics & Professional Concerns Subcommittee Member

Candidate: Rochelle Côté, Memorial University

Candidate: Nathan Lauster, University of British Columbia


Research Advisory Subcommittee member

Candidate: Barry Eidlin, McGill University

Candidate: Abdie Kaziempur, University of Calgary


Student Concerns Subcommittee Member (Central Representative)

Candidate: Awish Aslam, Western University

Candidate: Cynthia Guzman, University of Toronto

Candidate: Max Stick, McMaster University


Student Concerns Subcommittee Member (Eastern Representative)


Candidate: Emma Kay, Dalhousie University

Candidate: Katherine Morton, Memorial University


 Back to top to vote 

 This information has been complied by the CSA Office on behalf of,
Jim Conley, CSA Treasurer and Election Officer
Howard Ramos, CSA Past President and Chair of the Nominations Committee