Welcome

Welcome to the Animals in Society research cluster (RC) of the Canadian Sociological Association (CSA)! As sociologists, we see value in scholarship that goes beyond an anthropocentric understanding of Canadian society, one that includes the non- or other-than-human and pays … Continue reading

Posted in Cluster News |

Worldly Togetherness? Showcasing sociological contributions to understanding multispecies entanglements

Conference News Learn more about the Conference Program   Call for Papers Now closed The Australian Sociological Association’s ‘Sociology & Animals Thematic Group’, the American Sociological Association’s ‘Society & Animals Section’ the Canadian Sociological Association’s ‘Animals in Society’ research cluster … Continue reading

Posted in Cluster News, Conference |

Animals in Society Research Cluster Goes Virtual

Animals in Society research cluster meeting Date: June 11, 2020 Time: 1:30pm ET (10:30am PT, 11:30am MT, 12:30pm CT, 2:30pm AT, 3:00pm NT) As sociologists, we see value in scholarship that goes beyond an anthropocentric understanding of Canadian society, one … Continue reading

Posted in Cluster News |

Maybe Memorial Award

Maybe Memorial Award Call for Submissions for 2020 Established in 2020 and administered by the Animals In Society Research Cluster, the Maybe Memorial Award seeks to encourage and reward graduate student research that focusses on non-human animal welfare in a … Continue reading

Posted in Awards |

Animals in Society has Two Sessions at Congress June 2020

Animals in Society Research Cluster for the 2020 CSA Conference is organizing two interesting sessions at Congress in June at Western University in London, ON. As always, we welcome a broad range of papers and topics, both completed research and … Continue reading

Posted in Conference |

2020 Conference Call for Session Proposals

Details to be posted later in September.

Posted in Conference |