I-SRD Sessions for CSA 2021

Decolonizing Sport: Indigenous Hockey in Canada Monday, May 31, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm (Mountain time) Just a Little Offside: Beardy’s Blackhawks and the Saskatchewan Midget AAA Hockey League Monday, May 31, 9:00 – 10:30 am (Mountain time) Author Meets … Continue reading

Posted in Cluster News, CSA Conference | Tagged |

Call for Papers: Reading Sociology (4th edition)

Please see the following link for more information: https://www.csa-scs.ca/conference/call-for-papers-reading-sociology-4th-edition-unsettling-a-settler-colonial-project-re-writing-sociological-narratives/?fbclid=IwAR1crheJZNoc38kOUgKvWZ9TuPOQDJgOMlOMHDzC3VUYm_3QK2_t7iPA1mQ

Posted in Events & Calls | Tagged |

Survivance and Indigenous Street Lifestyles

January 21, 2021 11:00am PT / 12:00pm MT / 1:00pm CT / 2:00pm ET / 3:00pm AT / 3:30pm NT Guests: Dr. Robert Henry and Dr. Vanessa Watts This presentation builds upon Gerald Vizenor’s concept of survivance as an applied … Continue reading

Posted in Cluster News | Tagged |

Call for Abstracts

The application for Abstracts for the 2021 annual conference is open and they are due January 29th 2021 at 23:59 Pacific Time. Information on how to submit is located at the following link: https://www.csa-scs.ca/conference/wp-content/uploads/Abstract-submission-instructions_2020.pdf?fbclid=IwAR3ZcY9FYjHsYqffjt3uOwEFGHdcrAYYfrdej5lmVU7fcbwwvU4PKrV4t98  The preliminary program is available at … Continue reading

Posted in CSA Conference, Events & Calls | Tagged , |

Confronting the Canon: Decolonizing and Diversifying Your Department’s Curriculum – from the ASA

Sociology is beginning to reckon with its history, and with the biases embedded in some of our most widely taught and cited texts. How can your department–or your syllabi–provide students of all levels with a grounding in sociological knowledge and … Continue reading

Posted in Reports & Articles | Tagged , |

Assembly of First Nations RFP for Homelessness Research

The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) invites qualified consultants, consulting firms, technicians, and researchers to submit proposals to conduct research on First Nations homelessness on- and off-reserve. This research will help inform the AFN in working with Employment and Social … Continue reading

Posted in Events & Calls |

CSA-SCS 2021: Call for Sessions

Session proposal submissions will be accepted from September 22 through November 9, 2020. For more information, please check the Call for Sessions website: https://www.csa-scs.ca/conference/call-for-sessions/

Posted in CSA Conference, Events & Calls | Tagged , |

CSA-SCS 2021

From Sherry Fox, CSA-SCS Executive Director: The Conference will be held from May 31 to June 3, 2021 in partnership with the University of Alberta.  Our hope is that we will be able to meet in person with you at the … Continue reading

Posted in CSA Conference | Tagged |

Call for Papers: Health Sociology Review

Health Sociology Review seeks articles from Indigenous authors and their colleagues internationally, with the aim of identifying and guiding meeting points between Indigenous knowledges and sociological approaches to understanding health equity. We seek articles that consider health equity for Indigenous … Continue reading

Posted in Events & Calls | Tagged |

55th Annual General Meeting of the Members

The text below comes from an email sent out to CSA members on March 25th 2020. This is a reminder that the membership of the Canadian Sociological Association will be meeting virtually. Only members in good standing as of June … Continue reading

Posted in CSA Conference | Tagged |