CSA 2021: Virtual Conference Program

The program for the annual meeting of the Canadian Sociological Association is now available and includes scheduling details for all sessions and presentations. This is a virtual conference taking place from May 31 to June 4, 2021.

We are pleased to announce that the Internet, Technology, & Digital Sociology research cluster is affiliated with 9 regular sessions, totaling 34 presentations. Below is a summary of the ITDS sessions. The full list of presentation titles and authors can also be found in the attached poster: CSA 2021 Schedule – ITDS Sessions. Please visit the CSA website for more information. Zoom links for each session are forthcoming.

  1. Theoretical and Methodological Considerations for Digital Sociology (90 min)
    • Date: Monday May 31 at 9:00am-10:30pm MST (11:00am-12:30pm EST)
    • Organizers: Andrew D. Nevin and Anabel Quan-Haase
    • Chair: Anabel Quan-Haase
  2. Technology from a Youthful Perspective (60 min)
    • Date: Monday May 31 at 11:00am-12:00pm MST (1:00-2:00pm EST)
    • Organizers: Andrew D. Nevin and Anabel Quan-Haase
    • Chair: Molly-Gloria Harper
  3. Technology and Society: General Topics (60 min)
    • Date: Monday May 31 at 1:00-2:00pm MST (3:00-4:00pm EST)
    • Organizers: Andrew D. Nevin and Anabel Quan-Haase
    • Chair: Andrew D. Nevin
  4. Dating in the Digital Age: Sociological Studies of Digital Sexual Spaces (60 min)
    • ***Co-organized with the Gender and Sexuality research cluster
    • Date: Monday May 31 at 1:00-2:00pm MST (3:00-4:00pm EST)
    • Organizers: Alan Santinele Martino and Nicole Andrejek
    • Chairs: Alan Santinele Martino and Nicole Andrejek
  5. Technology-Mediated Work and Labour (60 min)
    • Date: Monday May 31 at 3:00-4:00pm MST (5:00-6:00pm EST)
    • Organizers: Andrew D. Nevin and Anabel Quan-Haase
    • Chair: Andrew D. Nevin
  6. Understanding Fake News: Misinformation, Disinformation and Manipulation (90 min)
    • Date: Tuesday June 1 at 11:00am-12:30pm MST (1:00-2:30pm EST)
    • Organizer: Michael Adorjan
    • Chair: Michael Adorjan
  7. Sociological Insights on Cybercrime and Deviance (90 min)
    • Date: Tuesday June 1 at 1:00-2:30pm MST (3:00-4:30pm EST)
    • Organizers: Ryan Broll and Dylan Reynolds
    • Chair: Ryan Broll
  8. Internet, Technology, & Social Movements (90 min)
    • Date: Wednesday June 2 at 9:00-10:30am MST (11:00am-12:30pm EST)
    • Organizer: Andrey Kasimov
    • Chair: Andrey Kasimov
  9. Internet, Technology, & the Alt-Right (90 min)
    • Date: Wednesday June 2 at 11:00am-12:30pm MST (1:00pm-2:30pm EST)
    • Organizer: Andrey Kasimov
    • Chair: Andrey Kasimov
This entry was posted in Cluster News, Conferences. Bookmark the permalink.