Student Webinar Series

Upcoming webinars organized by the Student Concerns Subcommittee

Library of webinar recordings and transcripts (organized by the Student Concerns Subcommittee)

Full information on Canadian Sociological Association organized webinars
(This includes this series of webinars as well as those organized by the CSA Executive Committee, other Subcommittees, and Research Clusters)

Students have expressed a need for more guidance about how to navigate both academic and non-academic career paths. To help address this need, the Canadian Sociological Association’s Student Concerns Subcommittee has organized a professional development webinar series for students.  Each webinar will feature a guest speaker, either an academic or practitioner, and will focus on a different aspect of professional development.

Professional development is integral to strengthening students’ transferable skills and their understanding of how the core competencies of the discipline can be used in both academic and non-academic settings.  Students enter graduate programs with varying levels of information and awareness of the importance of such knowledge, and access to professional development resources also varies by institution, department, and individual supervisors.  Discipline-specific information and perspectives from sociologists at different institutions/in different settings may provide new and valuable insights for all students.

These webinars are meant to be interactive, so they will feature both a presentation from the guest speaker as well as an open Q&A period.

Please contact the Student Concerns Subcommittee for more information.

Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter à students@csa-scs.ca

Upcoming Webinars

Details on our additional 2020-2021 webinars will be posted once finalized.

Website #11: Writing Winning Grant / Scholarship Applications

Date: November 18, 2020
Time: 11:30am – 1:00pm PT / 12:30pm – 2:00pm MT / 1:30pm – 3:00pm CT / 2:30pm – 4:00pm ET / 3:30pm – 5:00pm AT / 4:00pm – 5:30pm NT

Learn More and Register