Students@CSA

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar #11: Writing Winning Grant / Scholarship Applications

November 18

11:30am – 1:00pm PT / 12:30pm – 2:00pm MT / 1:30pm – 3:00pm CT / 2:30pm – 4:00pm ET / 3:30pm – 5:00pm AT / 4:00pm – 5:30pm NT

Click Here to Register

Panel Description:

This webinar will address how to prepare and think about grant writing/scholarship applications, how to structure a convincing argument, and where to seek feedback.  Panelists will also discuss how to best approach different evaluation criteria (e.g., research potential, leadership/community engagement, academic excellence) to help students better position themselves for success.

Panelist Bios:

Carlo Handy Charles, PhD Student, Department of Sociology, McMaster University

Carlo Handy Charles is a PhD student in sociology at McMaster University.  His doctoral research examines the intersectional impact of race, class, gender and sexuality on the socio-spatial integration of Haitian immigrants in Canada, the USA and in France.  He is a fellow at the Convergence Migrations Institute (ICM-Paris); a research assistant in sociology and the founder of the Migration/Mobility Graduate Network at McMaster.  He is also a session co-organizer for the CSA’s Race and Ethnicity Research Cluster.  He has won over 17 awards for his research, leadership, and academic accomplishments, including the SSHRC-Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship and the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation scholarship.

 

Dr. Yoko Yoshida, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Western Ontario

Dr. Yoshida is a sociologist whose research interests focus on applied social statistics in the areas of immigration, integration of immigrants, and social inequality in Canada.  Her current SSHRC-funded research focuses on two areas: analysis of the economic outcomes and retention of immigrants in Atlantic Canada and analysis of the integration of refugee children and youth in Canada.  In addition to securing multiple SSHRC grants to support her research, Dr. Yoshida has also served as a reviewer for the SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship Program.

 

Dr. Rima Wilkes, Professor, Department of Sociology, University of British Columbia

Dr. Wilkes is a Professor of Sociology at UBC.  She was President of the CSA in 2017 and the Executive Editor of the Canadian Review of Sociology/Revue canadienne de sociologie from 2013 to 2016.  She is also the principal investigator on a SSHRC-funded project titled, “It’s a Question of Trust: Explaining how Race and Ethnicity Matter.”  Over the course of her career, Dr. Wilkes has secured grants from a number of different organizations, including SSHRC and CIHR.  She also has extensive experience on award/grant committees, and is currently serving on the CSA Porter Prize committee.

Details

Date:
November 18