Research, teaching and embodiment

March 24, 2021

8:30am PT / 9:30am MT / 10:30am CT / 11:30am ET / 12:30pm AT / 1:00pm NT

Click here to register

BIPOC researchers in the field and teachers in the classroom are often confronted by our embodiment.  Our bodies are marked as unexpected, out of place and illegitimate.  What is the experience of BIPOC scholars carrying out research and teaching?  How do BIPOC scholars navigate these experiences and how do we challenge them?

Panelists:

Zohreh BayatRizi, University of Alberta

Zohreh BayatRizi an associate professor in Sociology at the University of Alberta where I have been working since 2008. My main interests are the sociology of death and dying, history of sociological concepts, and the sociology of Iran. Currently I am working on developing a decolonial perspective on death and grief through case studies of COVID-19 in Iran and the Flight PS752 tragedy. I am also working on developing a genealogy of the formation of ‘class’ as a sociological concept as part of a larger SSHRC-funded research project called The Great Canadian Class Study.

Xiaobei Chen, Carleton University

Xiaobei Chen is Professor of Sociology and Associate Chair in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Carleton University. She is President of the Canadian Sociological Association (2020-2021). Her research and teaching interests include: sociology of childhood and youth, governance and power, citizenship, racism, colonialism, citizenship, the Chinese diaspora, and Buddhist social thought. Her latest book is a co-edited volume The Sociology of Childhood and Youth in Canada. Her current research and community engagement are around anti-Chinese, anti-Asian racism associated with the COVID-19 pandemic.

Amanda Cheong, University of British Columbia

Amanda Cheong is an assistant professor in the department of sociology at the University of British Columbia. She works with undocumented, stateless, and refugee communities to examine the stratifying impacts of legal status. Amanda is a first-generation student and a second-generation immigrant raised by a formerly stateless immigrant family. She is grateful to be living and working on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Musqueam people.

Rachel La Touche, York University

Rachel La Touche (BAH, MA, Ph.D.) is an award-winning, interdisciplinary, and internationally trained scholar and instructor whose work interrogates questions of inequality, organizational culture, and mental health. She is an Assistant Professor – Teaching Stream in the Social Science Department at York University. Her research and applied expertise focus on equity and evidence-based approaches to fulfilling organizational goals.

This entry was posted in Panel Discussion, Professional Development, Upcoming Webinar and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.