1. Home
  2. >
  3. Angus Reid Applied Sociology Award

Angus Reid Applied Sociology Award

Nomination Deadline: March 15, 2024

The Canadian Sociological Association would like to thank the Angus Reid Foundation and the University of Calgary for co-sponsoring this award.


This award has been created to recognize sociologists who undertake community action projects that bring social science knowledge, methods, and expertise to bear in addressing community-identified issues and concerns.

This award celebrates a Sociologist's contribution to sociological practice that has served as a model for working with a community, organization or public service. We wish to honour work that has had a significant sociological perspective and, by so doing, has elevated the profession for Sociology as a whole. It is expected that this work has been honoured or widely recognized outside the discipline in advancing human welfare. The recipient of this award will have spent considerable time involving research, administrative or operational responsibilities as a member of an organization, agency or association or as a solo practitioner.


We accept nominations in English and French.

Nominations are encouraged from sociologists working with community organizations, local public interest groups or community action projects, as well as from sociologists in academic settings, research institutions, private and non-profit organizations, and government. While Canadian Sociological Association membership is not a criterion for being selected for this award, the recipient must be a current Canadian Sociological Association member at the time she/he receives the award. The definition of a Sociologist is broadly construed to include those individuals who currently hold an undergraduate and/or graduate degree in Sociology.

The activities of the nominee can include such activities as needs assessments, empirical research relevant to community activities or action planning, the design of research projects, evaluation studies, or critical/analytic review of the literature related to a policy issue. The goal of this award is to honour sociologists who have links with community action groups and to use sociological research to advance the goals of those groups.

Submitting Nominations

Download the nomination instructions and submit the requested information (Nominator, Nominee, Community Organization, Engagement Overview) along with the following documents;

  • Nominee’s CV
  • Letter of support from a representative of the community organization(s) (1 page maximum)
  • Letter of support from an academic colleague who is familiar with the nominee’s activities (1 page maximum)

Nominations may be submitted by a colleague or by self-nomination and must be emailed to the CSA office (office@csa-scs.ca) by March 15, 2024.

Student recipients are selected by the University of Calgary.

Equity Statement

The Canadian Sociological Association (CSA) is committed to the values and principles of equity, diversity, inclusion, and decolonization. We recognize and honour the intersectionality of equity-based identities. The CSA therefore invites and encourages the nomination (including self-nomination) of members from marginalized groups, including Indigenous peoples, racialized persons, persons with disabilities, persons who identify as women, and/or LGBTQ2+.


Year Practitioner

Student (University of Calgary)

2023 Rosemary Ricciardelli, Memorial University  Chetna Khandelwal
2022 Martha Dow, University of the Fraser Valley  Mojtaba Rostami
2021 Scott Davies, OISE, University of Toronto Pedrom Nasiri
2020 Sara Cumming, Sheridan College Courtney Petruik
2019 Becki Ross and Jamie Lee Hamilton, University of British Columbia Alicia Clifford
2018 Chris Bruckert, University of Ottawa Caroline Claussen
2017 Sean Lauer, University of British Columbia James Wyatt Anton
2016 Prabjhote (Jyoti) Gondek, Westman Centre for Real Estate Studies Haskayne School of Business Pernille Goodbrand
2015 Sally Lindsay, Bloorview Research Institute Not Applicable
2014 Martin Cooke, University of Waterloo Kristen Desjarlais-deKlerk
2013 Jaqueline Quinless, University of Victoria Prabhjote (Jyoti) Gondek