Awards / Prix

CSA Award Winners / Détentaires des prix de la SCS

The Canadian Sociological Association is proud to announce our award recipients for 2017.   They were honoured at our Annual Banquet and Award Ceremony held at Ryerson University on May 30, 2017.  Photos from the event and more information about the recipients will be posted soon. 

**Our 2018 Award recipients will be announced in June 2018 but will celebrated at our 2019 Annual Banquet and Award Ceremony held during Congress at the University of British Columbia.**

Links to CSA Awards (including terms of reference and nomination procedures)


2017 CSA-SCS Award recipients

Angus Reid Applied Sociology Awards:

Practitioner: Dr. Sean Lauer, University of British Columbia

Student: Mr. James Wyatt Anton, University of Calgary

Best Student Paper Awards: 

Jonathan Simmons, University of Alberta

François Lachapelle, University of British Columbia and Patrick John Burnett, University of British Columbia

Canadian Review of Sociology Best Article Award: Dr. David H. Calnitsky, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Early Investigator Award: Dr. Maria-Carolina Cambre, Concordia University

John Porter Tradition of Excellence Book Award: Dr. Nathanael Lauster, University of British Columbia

Honorable Mention: Dr. Karen Foster, Dalhousie University

Outstanding Contribution Awards:

Dr. Robert Andersen, Western University

Dr. Simon Langlois, Université Laval



CSA Awards Offered

For further information on the CSA awards, including nomination procedures, selection committees, and calls for nomination, click on the following links.

Pour de plus amples informations à propos des prix décernés par la SCS, incluant les critères d'égibilités, les comités de sélection, et les appels de nomination, suivant les liens ci-dessous :