1. Home
  2. >
  3. Outstanding Graduating Sociology Student Award

Outstanding Graduating Sociology Student Award

In the spring of 2013, the CSA-SCS launched an initiative to assist Canadian University and College Sociology Departments in recognizing their top graduating Honours, MA, and PhD students.

For 2024, departments may select one top student in each of four academic levels (Undergraduate, Honours, MA, and PhD) who has graduated or will be graduating between June 15, 2023 and June 15, 2024. The selection process is up to the department, however it is hoped that the strength of the student’s research is a priority in the decision. Contact us if you have students to nominate for 2023 (graduating from June 2022-June 2023).

The CSA-SCS will be accepting submissions from December 1, 2023 through May 15, 2024 using our convenient online system. There is no cost for the institution and the students need not be members of the association.

Click to submit your nominations

An award certificate and letter of congratulations from our President for each award recipient will be mailed to the department or student on or about May 30, 2024 for distribution to the students. Recipients will be acknowledged publically on the CSA-SCS website after July 1, 2024.

Equity Statement

The CSA is committed to the values and principles of equity, diversity, inclusion, and decolonization (refer to our Operating Standards and Principles on Equity). We recognize and honour the intersectionality of equity-based identities and therefore invite and encourage the nomination of members from marginalized groups, including Indigenous peoples, racialized persons, persons with disabilities, persons who identify as women, and/or LGBTQ2+.


2023 Recipients

Institution Level Recipient
Acadia University Honours BA Alexandria Delaney
Acadia University MA Blake MacDonald
Acadia University BA Mackenzie Keeler
Brock University BA Ermal Tusha
Brock University Honours BA Emilie Oakes
Brock University Honours BA Rachel Kuhn
Brock University MA Kelsey Smith
Carleton University MA Noémie Gravel
Carleton University PhD Andrew Crosby
Dalhousie University Honours BA Bridgette Norwood
Dalhousie University MA Kristopher George
Kwantlen Polytechnic University   BA Ashleigh Atkinson 
Lakehead University Honours BA Hannah Penny
Lakehead University MA Charisse Clark
Lakehead University BA Natasha Anne Whitney Magyar
MacEwan University Honours BA Alexandra Gagnon
McGill Unitersity BA Samuelle Fortin
McGill University MA Claire Corsten
McGill University PhD Sakeef Karim
McMaster University Honours BA James Thomas
McMaster University MA Nicole McNair
McMaster University PhD Max Stick
Memorial Univesity MA Heather Austin
Memorial University PhD Navjotpal Kaur
Mount Allison University Honours BA Aura Groomes
Mount Royal University Honours BA Ashton Turcotte
Mount Royal University BA Celeste Daly
Ontario Tech University MA Shannon Wilson
Ontario Tech University Honours BA Jacynthe McDonald Spence 
Queen's University   Honours BA Sixue Liu
Queen's University   MA Joseph McAuley Stieb
Queen's University   PhD Martine Rondeau
Simon Fraser University Honours BA Julia Marie Lunot
Simon Fraser University BA Ty Bryant
Toronto Metropolitan University BA Yasmin Abdifatah Mohammed
Trent Univesity BA Jaqueline Burns
Trent University BA Kayla Shugg
Trent University Honours BA Lindsey Russell
Trent University Honours BA Hailey Power
Université du Québec à Montréal MA Laurence Jutras
Université du Québec à Montréal PhD Romain Paumier
University of Alberta Honours BA Carina Siu
University of Alberta BA Nader Chehayeb
University of British Columbia Honours BA Nadia Liva Behji
University of British Columbia MA Harriet Christine Moore
University of British Columbia PhD Adam Philip Vanzella Yang
University of Guelph Honours BA Chloe Norris
University of Manitoba Honours BA Nikol Veisman
University of Manitoba MA Cyma Tolaj
University of Manitoba PhD Sally Ogoe
University of Manitoba BA Danielle Nanni
University of New Brunswick MA Yin Wu
University of Regina BA Nicholas Antonini
University of Saskatchewan MA Abu-Hena Mostofa Kamal
University of Saskatchewan PhD Mohammed. A. Abdulai
University of Saskatchewan Honours BA August Skrudland
University of Saskatchewan BA Jade Badger
University of Toronto MA Michelle Nadon Bélanger
University of Toronto PhD Philip Badawy
University of Victoria MA John Mills
University of Victoria PhD Rebeccah Nelems
University of Winnipeg Honours BA Christopher Dueck
Western University Honours BA Christine Taylhardat
Western University MA Yuchen Li
Western University PhD Vesna Pajović
Western University BA Laura Hinatsu
York University MA Naiomi Perera
York University PhD Rhonda George