1. Home
  2. >
  3. Congress Student Merit Award

Congress Student Merit Award

Deadline: April 4, 2025

The Federation of the Humanities and Social Sciences (FHSS) supports its scholarly associations’ collective desire to facilitate the participation of exceptional graduate students in Congress activities. Graduate students enrich the Congress experience for all participants by contributing to knowledge production through research and presentations, and, more generally, through their presence and interactions with fellow colleagues and members of the broader community.

The Federation in partnership with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) has introduced a pilot program to provide funding to select graduate students as endorsed by member Associations.

The Canadian Sociological Association (CSA) will be eligible for up to five endorsed students who will each receive a $500 award. The intention is for this award to be based on merit rather than financial need and offered in addition to other student funding programs utilized by the Associations. A commitment to increasing equity, diversity, and inclusion is to also be considered when selecting students to endorse.

Graduate students (MA and PhD) members of the Canadian Sociological Association (CSA) who have been approved to present a paper at the 2025 CSA Conference are invited to apply for this award.

Deadline: April 4, 2025

The online application will ask applicants for the following information;

  • Name
  • Email address
  • Academic affiliation (institution and department)
  • Academic level (MA/PhD)
  • Academic standing
  • Student to confirm that they are currently in good academic standing and will be asked to provide transcript or letter of support from a supervisor if in final considered for the award
  • Abstract of the research/paper which has been approved for presentation at the CSA Conference
  • Identification as a member of an equity deserving group
  • Summary of academic and applied accomplishments relating to the field of Sociology

Note: Applicants may not have received this award in previous years.

The CSA Conference Program Committee will be adjudicating this award and will be communicating the results on or about April 15, 2025.

Apply for the 2025 Congress Student Merit Award


Year Recipient
2024 Adam Mursal, University of Waterloo
2024 Anne-Cécile Delaisse, University of British Columbia
2024 Momo Tanaka, University of Toronto
2024 Nicolas Viens, University of British Columbia
2024 Sara Hormozinejad, University of Toronto
2024 Sarah Law, Simon Fraser University
2024 Shamiga Arumuhathas, Western University
2024 Shucheng (Tori) Yang, University of British Columbia
2024 Yan Xue, University of Alberta
2023 Brianna Garneau, York University
2023 Iman adaei, University of Victoria
2023 Jenna Scali, Lakehead University
2023 Laura Blinn, Dalhousie University
2023 Mariana Pinzon-Caicedo, Simon Fraser University
2023 Md Nazmul Arein, University of Alberta
2022 Félix Pavlenko, Université d’Ottawa
2022 Jada Joseph, Concordia University
2022 Manlin Cai, University of British Columbia
2022 Max Chewinski, University of British Columbia
2022 Max Stick, McMaster University
2021 Carlo Charles, McMaster University
2021 Andrew Crosby, Carleton University
2021 Ayesha Mian Akram, University of Windsor
2021 Karine Coen-Sanchez, University of Ottawa
2021 William Schultz, University of Alberta
2021 Olivia Peters, University of Guelph