1. Home
  2. >
  3. Outstanding Contribution Award

Outstanding Contribution Award

Nomination Deadline: March 15, 2024


The Canadian Sociological Association (CSA) Outstanding Contribution Award honours colleagues who have significantly contributed to Sociology in Canada. The Outstanding Contribution Award shall be a means of recognizing exceptional scholarly merit. The contribution should extend beyond the specialization(s) in which the candidate has primarily worked and their scope should be widely recognized within the Canadian sociological community. The award provides recognition of outstanding scholarly contributions, and will normally be awarded to scholars at an advanced stage in their career, with a well-established record of multiple contributions throughout his or her career.

We accept nominations in English and French.

Submitting Nominations

Download the nomination instructions and submit the requested information (3 Nominators from at least 2 academic institutions, Nominee, Contribution overview) along with the following documents;

  • Nominee’s CV
  • Letter of support from each of the three nominators (maximum 1 page per letter)

Nominations must be emailed to the CSA office (office@csa-scs.ca) by March 15, 2024.

Equity Statement

The Canadian Sociological Association (CSA) is committed to the values and principles of equity, diversity, inclusion, and decolonization. We recognize and honour the intersectionality of equity-based identities. The CSA therefore invites and encourages the nomination (including self-nomination) of members from marginalized groups, including Indigenous peoples, racialized persons, persons with disabilities, persons who identify as women, and/or LGBTQ2+.

Honouring Award Recipients

The award recipient will receive a plaque and be recognized through the Canadian Sociological Association communications and website. The recipient is also invited to present a lecture in one of the plenary sessions of the Annual Conference of the following year.


Year: 2020 - current

Year Recipients
2023 Xiaobei Chen Carleton University
2023 Cora Voyageur University of Calgary
2022 No Recipient  
2021 Terry Wotherspoon University of Saskatchewan
2020 Carl E. James York University


Year: 2010 to 2019

Year Recipients Affiliation
2019 Agnes Calliste St. Francis Xavier University
2018 Patrizia Albanese Ryerson University
2017 Robert Andersen Western University
2017 Simon Langlois Université Laval
2016 Neil Guppy University of British Columbia
2015 Monica Boyd University of Toronto
2014 Pamela Sugiman Ryerson University
2013 John Myles University of Toronto
2012 Ralph Matthews University of British Columbia
2012 David Lyon Queen's University
2011 William K. Caroll University of Victoria
2010 James Frideres University of Calgary

Year: 2000 to 2009

Year Recipients Affiliation
2009 Harvey Krahn  University of Alberta
2008 No recipient / le prix n'a pas été décerné  
2007 Victor Satzewich  McMaster University
2006 Heribert Adam  Simon Fraser University
2006 Neena L. Chappell  University of Victoria
2005 Jeffrey G. Reitz  University of Toronto
2005 Peter Sinclair  Memorial University of Newfoundland
2004 Shiva Halli  University of Manitoba
2004 Frances Henry  York University
2004 Susan A. McDaniel  University of Alberta
2003 Bonnie Fox  University of Toronto
2003 Lorne Tepperman  University of Toronto
2003 Maurice Pinard  McGill University
2002 Patricia Armstrong  York University
2002 Peter Li  University of Saskatchewan
2002 Meg Luxton  York University
2002 William Shaffir  McMaster University
2001 Paul Bernard  Université de Montréal
2001 Ellen Gee  Simon Fraser University
2001 Anthony Richmond  York University
2001 Nico Stehr  University of Alberta
2001 Barry Wellman  University of Toronto
2000 Donald Clairmont  Dalhousie University
2000 James Curtis  University of Waterloo
2000 James Richardson  University of New Brunswick

Year: 1990 to 1999

Year Recipients Affiliation
1999 Leo Dreidger  University of Manitoba
1999 Peta Tancred   McGill University
1998 No recipient / le prix n'a pas été décerné  
1997 Warren Kalbach  University of Calgary
1997 Georges-Henri Lévesque  Université Laval
1997 Marlene Mackie  University of Calgary
1997 Robert Stebbins  University of Calgary
1996 Margrit Eichler  OISE - University of Toronto
1995 Menno Boldt  Lethbridge University
1995 Robert Brym  University of Toronto
1995 Arthur K. Davis  University of Alberta
1994 Linda Christiansen-Ruffman  St. Mary's University
1994 Raymond Currie  University of Manitoba
1994 Alanis Obomsawin  National Film Board
1993 Peter Pineo  McMaster University
1992 Frank Jones  McMaster University
1992 Thelma McCormack  York University
1991 Frederick Elkin  York University
1991 Gillian Sankoff  University of Pennsylvania
1991 Frank Vallée  Carleton University
1990 Bernard Blishen   York University
1990 Raymond Breton  University of Toronto
1990 Jean Burnet  Glendon College, York University
1990 S.D. Clark  University of Toronto
1990 Hubert Guindon  Concordia University
1990 Oswald Hall  University of Toronto
1990 Gordon Inglis  Memorial University
1990 John D. Jackson  Concordia University
1990 Patricia Marchak  The University of British Columbia
1990 Bruce A. McFarlane  Carleton University
1990 Guy Rocher  Université de Montréal
1990 Aileen Ross  McGill University
1990 Dorothy  Smith  OISE - University of Toronto
1990 Marc-Adélard Tremblay  Université Laval